Directors and Officers

Directors and Officers


Jeanette Harper - President

Left to right: Murray Chesterman, Nick Harris (Deputy Chair), Mark Beatson (Chair), Rachel Morrison, Simon Munt

Mark Beatson (Chair) - Mark has been part of Canterbury Hockey for over 40 years as a player, coach, manager, club and Canterbury Hockey administrator. He is a life member of the Southern United Hockey Club and received a Bronze Service Award from Hockey NZ in 2015. His wide hockey experience and knowledge is a valuable resource in our governance, and he has a particular focus on lifting the quality of our sport. Outside his board involvement Mark has a coaching role with HSOB/Burnside CPL Men. Mark is a director of Telfer Young, a national valuation and property advisory company.

Nick Harris (Deputy Chair) - Nick has been a board member for the last four years. He also chairs the Finance Committee and has previously been on the Junior Committee. Nick's involvement in hockey started when his eldest daughter stated playing hockey. Having not played the game, Nick quickly discovered what a great game it is. Nick is a former director and shareholder of Hellers, a director of Scales Corporation and chair of the Enterprise North Canterbury Trust.

Murray Chesterman - Murray was voted onto the board this year. He has been involved in hockey in Canterbury since 1999 after moving from Hawkes Bay where he played representative hockey and umpired at National level. A member of the HSOB/Burnside club he is the current manager of their CPL team and still plays masters. Murray works as a sales representative for John Deere and brings financial and business acumen to the board. He is keen to ensure the positive growth of hockey within Canterbury.

Rachel Morrison - Rachel has been involved in hockey since the age of five as a player, umpire, manager, coach, committee and board member. She moved to Christchurch in 2007 to study at Canterbury University and was head coach of the UC Women's Hockey Club from 2011 to 2014, and is now the Div 1 coach for the Marist women's team. Rachel is a solicitor in a law firm and brings her legal knowledge to her role on the board.

Simon Munt - Simon is well known to our hockey community being a Canterbury representative for a number of years and having only hung up his CPL boots this year. He is the marketing manager for the Lyttelton Port Company and brings his commercial acumen, as well as his considerable hockey knowledge, to the board table.

Board Committees 

Awards - Jeannette Harper (Chair)

Finance - Nick Harris (Chair), Murray Chesterman

Facilities - Peter Cox, Nick Harris, Selwyn Maister

Judicial - Rachel Morrison (Chair)

Regional Performance Centre Advisory Committee - Mark Beatson (Chair), Pat Barwick, Lee Munt

Canterbury Artificial Services Trust (CAST)

Selwyn Maister (Chair)
Peter Cox
Michael Bevan
Nick Harris
Ian Riach

share on entry