Canterbury Senior Teams

The Cantebury Senior Teams attend the National Senior Tournament in September which currently runs alongside the National Hockey League.

In recent years the teams have created their own identities, with the Beavers (Men) and Barracudas (Women) becoming prominent names within the hockey community.

The Beavers broke an 11 year hoodoo to capture the title in 2014, and successfully defended it in 2015 and 2016. They went agonisingly close again this year, unfortunately losing to Waikato in a penalty shootout and having to settle for second.

In 2015 the Barracudas won the title for the first time in six years. Last year they went down in the final to Southland on penalty shootouts and this year they also had to settle for second best losing to North Harbour 2-1 in their final.

Bring on 2018 where both teams will be extra keen to reverse the results from this year.  

2017 Canterbury Beavers
2017 Canterbury Barracudas